Influenced by the Southern rock of Lynyrd Skynyrd and other artists such as U2 and Rich Mullins, Third Day was originally formed by vocalist Mac Powell and acoustic guitarist Mark Lee. The duo added bassist Tai Anderson and drummer David Carr from another local band, and recorded some demos. Third Day's live shows gradually built a loyal fan base, and just after lead guitarist Brad Avery joined, the band signed to Gray Dot Records. Their eponymous debut followed in 1996, with Conspiracy No. 5 appearing a year later. Third Day returned in 1999 with Time.

Part of Everything Quest 4: Artists/Songs/Bands

One of Third Day's strengths is that as a band, they are always changing. Every album has a different kind of flavor to it, yet the roots still remain rock.

In the first album by Third Day, which is self-titled, their sound has a harder edge to it while keeping a spiritual overtone with songs like "Thief" and "Love Song".

In Conspiracy No. 5, the sound remains the same in terms of hard edge, but it comes out more poetic.

In the third album, Time, Third Day brings a southern rock/gospel flavor to their music while maintaining the same worshipful over-tones.

The fourth album, Offerings is a compilation/worship/live album. It combines some of Third Day's hits, which are worship songs with a live setting.

Come Together, Third Day's fifth and latest album, follows in the footsteps of Time while also following the route of Offerings in spiritual and poetic lyrics. In this album the southern rock really shines though. There is a lot more funk in this album.


Third Day (1996)

  1. Nothing at All
  2. Forever
  3. Mama
  4. Love Song
  5. Blackbird
  6. Thief
  7. Consuming Fire
  8. Did You Mean It
  9. Holy Spirit
  10. Livin' for Jesus
  11. Take My Life
  12. Praise Song

Conspiracy No. 5 (1997)

  1. Peace
  2. You Make Me Mad
  3. How's Your Head
  4. Alien
  5. I Deserve?
  6. Have Mercy
  7. My Hope Is You
  8. More To This
  9. This Song Was Meant For You
  10. Who I Am
  11. Give Me A Reason
  12. Gomer's Theme
  13. Your Love Endures

Time (1999)

  1. I've Always Loved You
  2. Believe
  3. Took My Place
  4. Never Bow Down
  5. Your Love, Oh Lord (Psalm 36)
  6. Don't Say Goodbye
  7. What Good
  8. Can't Take The Pain
  9. Sky Falls Down
  10. Give

Offerings (2000)

  1. King Of Glory
  2. These Thousand Hills
  3. Your Love, Oh Lord
  4. Agnus Dei/ Worthy
  5. Saved
  6. My Hope Is You
  7. You're Everywhere
  8. Thief
  9. Consuming Fire
  10. All The Heavens
  11. Love Song
  12. Hidden Track

Come Together (2002)

  1. Come Together
  2. 40 Days
  3. Show Me Your Glory
  4. Get On
  5. My Heart
  6. It's Alright
  7. Still Listening
  8. I Got You
  9. I Don't Know
  10. When The Rain Comes
  11. Sing Praises
  12. Nothing Compares

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.