As well as a song, also the Beach Boys' fourth album. Released less than a month after Surfer Girl, this was possibly the world's first concept album (although maybe some of Frank Sinatra's '50s albums qualify for this title), having only one song (Be True To Your School) which wasn't on the subject of cars.

However, due to the speed with which it was recorded, it shares four songs with earlier albums. The title track and Our Car Club come from Surfer Girl, Shut Down from Surfin' USA and 409 from Surfin' Safari.

Full tracklist:

  1. Little Deuce Coupe
  2. Ballad Of Ole'Betsy
  3. Be True To Your School
  4. Car Crazy Cutie
  5. Cherry, Cherry Coupe
  6. 409
  7. Shut Down
  8. Spirit Of America
  9. Our Car Club
  10. No-Go Showboat
  11. A Young Man Is Gone
  12. Custom Machine

Beach Boys lineup for this album: Brian Wilson, Carl Wilson, Dennis Wilson, Mike Love, Dave Marks (the last album on which Marks appears) and Al Jardine (uncredited).

Incidentally the writeup above fails to note Mike Love's co-writing credit on the song, won from Brian Wilson in a lawsuit in the early 90s, although it is debatable how much he actually contributed. The legally correct writers' credit is now Brian Wilson/Mike Love/Roger Christian.

Previous Beach Boys album - Surfer Girl.
Next album - Shut Down Vol 2

Currently available on Capitol Records as a twofer with All Summer Long

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.