European country bordering Denmark, Poland, the Czech Republic, Austria, Switzerland, Luxembourg, France, Belgium, the Netherlands and the North Sea and Baltic Sea. First united as one country (rather than a bunch of little duchies and principalities that spoke dialects of the same language) in 1871. From 1945 to 1990 it was divided into NATO-influenced West Germany and Soviet Union-influenced East Germany. It's still working on completely reintegrating the two parts.