TMBG's core members and sole songwriters are, as always, Flans and Linnell. However, they are currently accompanied on record and in concert by the Band of Dans: Dan Hickey on drums, Dan Miller on guitar and keyboards and Dan Weinkauf on bass. The Johns seem to like 'em a lot and are planning to keep them on indefinitely.

When horns are called for, the Velcro Horns (Jim O'Connor on trumpet and Dan Levine on trombone) fill that need more than adequately.

Previous band members have included bassists Hal Cragin, Graham Maby and Tony Maimone; guitarists Jay Sherman-Godfrey and Eric Schermerhorn; drummers J.D. Feinberg and Brian Doherty; and horn player and all-around good guy Kurt Hoffman.