Rugby tournament involving six European nations, these being:

Italy joined in 2000, before which the competition was known as the Five Nations. The major annual rugby event in the Northern Hemisphere, it is held in early spring and each team plays each other once. Home and Away fixtures are held in alternate years, so that if Ireland play England in Lansdowne Road, Dublin in 2001, they will play them in Twickenham, London in 2002.

The Championship is won by the team who top the league table after all the matches have been played, but several additional prizes are on offer: if a team defeats all opponents, it wins the Grand Slam, and certain teams can compete in sub-challenges including the Triple Crown and the Calcutta Cup.

And the winners are ...


The first weekend of the compettion gets off to a bunch of surprises. In the opening game of ScotlandvFrance in Paris, France steal a famous victory out of the hands of the Scots. A controversial decision by the ref robs Scotland of the match winning try.
Wales beat England. Wales, the team that has promised so much for the past three years, looks like it is about ready to start delivering. England, a shadow of their former selves, are run around the pitch. They have the temerity to snatch the lead in the dying minutes, but the Welsh golden boy Gavin Henson steps up with two minuites on the clock to slot over a penalty form 49 meters out to give his team the victory by a margin of two points.
In the last game of the opening weekend the Italians dominate the Irish for the opening 20 minutes and at the breakdown, but they have no answer for the Genius of Drico (Brian O'Driscoll). In the end Ireland show their class to win, if not quite convincinly, at least comfortably.
. This championship promises to be a cracker.
The 2003 compettion ended yesterday, Ireland v England. Sure I was heartbroken. Ireland have only managed one grand slam in the history of the tournament and that was 55 years ago. The winner of yesterdays match was going to take the grand slam this year. It was played in Dublin but England ran through a heroic Irish performance. Here are the results of all previous competitions. Some years are divided between more than one nation a draw in the competition is always possible. Grand Slam winning years are boldfaced.

1882,1883,1886,1890,1892,1910,1912,1913,1914, 1920,1921,1923,1924,1928, 1930,1932,1934,1937,1939,1947,1953,1954,1957,1958, 1960,1963,1973,1980,1991,1992,1995, 1996,2000,2001,2003
35 Championships, 12 Grand Slams

1893,1900,1902,1905,1906,1908,1909,1911, 1920,1922,1931,1932,1936,1939,1947,1950,1952, 1954,1955,1956,1964,1965,1966,1969,1970,1971,1973,1975 1976,1978,1979,1988,1994
33 Championships, 8 Grand Slams

1886,1887,1890,1891,1895,1901,1901,1903,1904,1907,1920, 1925,1926,1927,1929,1933,1938,1964,1973,1984, 1986,1990,1999
23 Championships, 3 Grand Slams

1954,1955,1959,1960,1961,1962,1967,1968,1970,1973, 1977,1981,1983,1986,1987,1988,1989,1993, 1997,1998,2002,2004
22 Championships, 7 Grand Slams

1894,1896,1899,1906,1912,1926,1927,1932,1935,1939,1948, 1951,1973,1974,1982,1983,1985
17 Championships, 1 Grand Slam

Some time soon.

Four Nations 1882 - 1909
Five Nations 1910 - 1999
Six Nations 2000 - 2003
Years un-awarded

I took the data from and reformatted and updated it.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.