Considered by many, including myself, to be one of the best records in the eighties, Escape From Noise was released by Negativland in the year of 1987 and featured various collaborations of people active in the american alternative music scene at the time, like, among others: Jello Biafra from the Dead Kennedys, Steve Fisk, Fred Frith, Jerry Garcia from The Grateful Dead, Alexander Hacke, from Einstürzende Neubauten, Mickey Hart from The Grateful Dead, Henry Kaiser, Mark Mothersbaugh from Devo, The Residents and of course the Reverend Ivan Stang, credited for the Larynx on track 14, Christianity Is Stupid.

Many years after it's still a pleasure to hear such a superb exercise of collage, cynical humor and political irony.

track list:
01 Announcement
02 Quiet Please
03 Michael Jackson
04 Escape From Noise
05 The Playboy Channel
06 Stress in Marriage
07 Nesbitt’s Lime Soda Song
08 Over the Hiccups
09 Sycamore
10 Car Bomb

11 Methods of Torture
12 Yellow, Black and Rectangular
13 Backstage Pass
14 Christianity is Stupid
15 Time Zones
16 You Don’t Even Live Here
17 The Way of It
18 Endscape

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.