Carnegie Mellon University, usually referred to as Carnegie Mellon, was created in 1900 by Andrew Carnegie to provide vocational education for the children of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania steel workers. At the time of its creation, the university was known as the Carnegie Technical Schools. In 1912, the school was renamed as the Carnegie Institute of Technology, or CIT.

In 1967, the Carnegie Institute of Technology merged with the Mellon Institute to form Carnegie Mellon University.

Today, Carnegie Mellon is comprised of seven colleges and schools:

Carnegie Institute of Technology (the college of engineering)
College of Fine Arts
College of Humanities and Social Sciences
Graduate School of Industrial Administration
H. John Heinz III School of Public Policy and Management
Mellon College of Science
School of Computer Science

Since its inception, Carnegie Mellon has had eight presidents, most of whom have buildings on campus named after them:

Arthur A. Hamerschlag (Hamerschlag House - a freshman men's dormitory, and Hammerschlag Hall -
      Electrical/Computer Engineering)
Thomas S. Baker (Baker Hall - Humanities and Social Sciences)
Robert E. Doherty (Doherty Hall - primarily Mellon College of Science)
John C. Warner (Warner Hall - administration)
H. Guyford Stever
Richard M. Cyert (Cyert Hall - computing services)
Robert Mehrabian
Jared L. Cohon (current president)