As of version 3.2, the Unicode standard has 26 semantically distinct varients of the character minus. They are enumerated below, separated by code block.

The columns below should be interpreted as :

  1. The Unicode code for the character
  2. The character in question
  3. The Unicode name for the character
  4. The Unicode General Category for the character
  5. The HTML entity if any, instead of using &#xUUUU;
  6. (The SGML entities if any)


C0 Controls and Basic Latin

U+002D  -  hyphen minus   Pd   (‐)


C1 Controls and Latin-1 Supplement

U+00B1  ±  plus minus sign   Sm   ±   (±)


Spacing Modifier Letters

U+02D7  ˗  modifier letter minus sign   Sk


Combining Diacritical Marks

U+0320  ̠  combining minus sign below   Mn


General Punctuation

U+2052    commercial minus sign   Sm


Superscripts and Subscripts

U+207B    superscript minus   Sm
U+208B    subscript minus   Sm


Mathematical Operators

U+2212    minus sign   Sm   −   (−)
U+2213    minus or plus sign   Sm   (∓)
U+2216    set minus   Sm   (∖ ∖)
U+2238    dot minus   Sm
U+2242    minus tilde   Sm
U+2296    circled minus   Sm   (⊖)
U+229F    squared minus   Sm   (⊟)



U+2756    black diamond minus white X   So


Supplemental Arrows B

U+293C    top arc clockwise arrow with minus   Sm


Supplemental Mathematical Operators

U+2A29    minus sign with comma above   Sm
U+2A2A    minus sign with dot below   Sm
U+2A2B    minus sign with falling dots   Sm
U+2A2C    minus sign with rising dots   Sm
U+2A3A    minus sign in triangle   Sm
U+2A41    union with minus sign   Sm
U+2A6C    similar minus similar   Sm


Small Form Variants

U+FE63    small hyphen minus   Pd


Halfwidth and Fullwidth Forms

U+FF0D    fullwidth hyphen minus   Pd



U+E002D  󠀭  tag hyphen minus   Cf

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.