These are the emperors who ruled in Rome, then later at Ravenna, after division of the Roman Empire. Honorius was a son of Theodosius the Great, the last ruler of the united empire.

  1. Honorius 395-421
  2. Honorius and his son Constantius III 421
  3. Honorius alone again 421-423
  4. John 423-425
  5. Valentinian III 425-455
  6. Petronius Maximus 455
  7. Avitus 455-456
  8. Majorian 457-461
  9. Libius Severus 461-465
  10. Anthemius 467-472
  11. Olybrius 472
  12. Glycerius 473-474
  13. Julius Nepos 474-475
  14. Julius Nepos and Romulus Augustulus 475-476
  15. Julius Nepos alone again 476-480

Romulus Augustulus is often given as the last Roman emperor in the West, and 476 as the date of the extinction of the empire, but Romulus was a puppet installed by his father Orestes, and was never recognized by Constantinople, which continued to support Julius Nepos. When the Germanic ruler Odoacer deposed Romulus he allowed Julius to remain as nominal emperor in Dalmatia.