Infamous goal scored by Diego Maradona
, an Argentine soccer
player known for cheating, in the 1986 World Cup
, in Mexico
. Unfortunately, in addition to cheating
, he was an amazingly good
player and the goal was credited. The result was that England
was wrongfully knocked out of the tournament
In the match against England, Maradona, a short stocky player, seemingly leapt into the air to head the ball in past the English goalie. It was obvious that he padded the side of his head with his elbow to knock it in due to his short stature. Unfortunately, the goal was assisted by a long pass, and the referee did not get a clear view. Maradona was credited with the goal.
Another story in the long rivalry between England and Argentina.