Togakure Ryu, the hidden door school, is beleived to be the oldest school of ninjutsu still in existence today. It is believed that Togakure ryu was founded by Daisuke Nishina in the 1100s (almost 800 years ago!).

This school is among other things known for its unusual weapons. The arsenal includes hand claws, foot claws, square shuriken, eight-point shuriken and boshuriken.

Makimono, the secret scrolls, are held by Masaaki Hatsumi, who is the 34th soke.

1. Taijutsu, Hichojutsu, Nawa-waza
2. Karate, Koppojutsu, Jutaijutsu
3. Sojutsu, Naginatajutsu
4. Bojutsu, Jojutsu, Hanbojutsu
5. Senban nage, Ken Nagejutsu, Shurikenjutsu
6. Kajutsu, Suijutsu
7. Chikujo, Gunryako Hyoho
8. Onshinju tsu, Moku-ka-do-ki sui Goton Juppoju tsu

9. Kenpo, Kodachi, Juttejutsu, Tessenjutsu

Its origins are confused. According to his book, "Hidden Ninja Submission", Hatsumi Masaaki claims:

"It was founded by Togakure Daisuke who was a vassal of Kiso Yoshinaka when he lost a war in early 12th Century. It was initially called Togakure Ryu Happo Hiken but has been called various names since then."

What is now the Godan (5th Dan) test in the Bujinkan Dojo is mentioned in the Togakure Ryu Makimono scrolls, in a section called "Timmon Jimon".

Some of the main teachings of the Togakure Ryu are:
"Violence is to be avoided, and Ninpo is Bujutsu"
"Sword to be peaceful, and protect country, family and nature"

The three secrets of the Togakure Ryu are known as "Sanpo hiden"

1. Senban Shuriken
The four pointed throwing star, the symbol of the school, was once a metal plate for lifting nails out of wood.

2. Shuko
Also known as Tekagi theses are the famous metal bands that go around the hand, with four metal spikes protecting the palm. This was a climbing tool as well as a defence agains swords.

3. Shindake
Small bamboo tube (4 feet long) to aid breathing under water, sometimes a broken scabbard was used.

There are yet another Sanpo Hiden, the Eyes, ears and groin...the kyusho or pressure points of the school.

The Soke:
Sakabe Tendo
Hachiryu Nyodo - 1110
Kinon Hyobei - 1151
Kasumigakure Doshi

1. Togakure Daisuke also known as Nishina - 1161
2. Shima Kosanta Minamoto no kanesada - 1180
3. Togakure Goro - 1200
4. Togakure Kosanta
5. Koga Kisanta
6. Kaneko Tomoharu
7. Togakure Ryuho
8. Togakure Gakuun
9. Kido Kosei
10. Iga Tenryu
11. Ueno Rihei
12. Ueno Senri
13. Ueno Manjiro
14. Iizuka Saburo
15. Sawada Goro
16. Ozaru Ippe
17. Kimate Hachiro
18. Kataoka Heizaemon
19. Mori Ugenta
20. Toda Godei
21. Kobe Seiun
22. Mumochi Kobei
23. Tebari Tenzen
24. Toda Seiryu Nobutsuna - 1624-1644
25. Toda Fudo Nobochika - 1658-1681
26. Toda Kangoro Nobuyasu - 1681-1704
27. Toda Eisaburo Nobumasa - 1704-1711
28. Toda Shinbex Masachika - 1711-1736
29. Toda Shingoro Masayoshi - 1736-1764
30. Toda Daigoro Chikahide - 1764-1804
31. Toda Daisaburo Chikashige - 1804
32. Toda Shinryuken Masamitsu - b1824-d1909
33. Takamatsu Toshitsugu -b1887-d1972
34. Hatsumi Masaaki -b1931-

Information provided by Paul Richardson, Sensei Ian Wilson, Dr Hatsumi Masaaki and from other soures.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.