also spelled Mogul
from Arabic for Mongol

The Mughal Empire was a Muslim dynasty in Hindustan (northern India) founded by Babar (Babur) in the early 16th century which spanned seven generations and over 200 years.


1526:  The Battle of Panipat in India, and the Moghul
       conquest; Babur makes his capital at Delhi and
1556:  Akbar rules the empire.
1600:  Sind annexed by the Mughals. End of the Arghun
       rule in Sind.
1601:  Khandesh annexed by the Mughals.
1605:  Death of the Mughal emperor Akbar; accession of
1607:  Annexation of Ahmadnagar by the Mughals.
1609:  Annexation of Bidar by the Mughals.
1611:  Kuch Behar subjugated by the Mughals.
1612:  Kamrup annexed by the Mughals.
1618:  Tipperah annexed by the Mughals.
1627:  Death of the Mughal emperor Jahangir, accession
       of Shah Jahan.
1658:  Deposition of the Mughal emperor Shah Jahan, 
       accession of Aurangzeb.
1682:  Assam annexed by the Mughals. Aurangzeb shifts the 
       capital to Aurangabad in the Deccan.
1686:  Annexation of Bijapur by the Mughals.
1687:  Golkunda annexed by the Mughals.
1707:  Death of the Mughal emperor Aurangzeb, accession of 
       his son Bahadur Shah.
1712:  Death of the Mughal emperor Bahadur Shah, accession 
       of Jahandar Shah.
1713:  Jahandar Shah overthrown by his nephew Farrukh 
1719:  Deposition of the Mughal emperor Farrukh Siyar 
       Muhammad Shah ascends the throne.
1748:  Death of Muhammad Shah, almost all of northern India 
       overrun by the Marathas of southern India. The
       Mughal Empire breaks apart.

links will be added to the chronology as time permits. this is a work in progress

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.