A section of the Atlantic Ocean between Great Britain and Ireland. Specifically, the Irish Sea lies north of a line drawn between Dublin and Holyhead (northwest of the Island of Anglesey), south of which lies St. George's Channel.  Sometimes, St. George's Channel is included as part of the Irish Sea, making its southern limit a line between St. David's Head in Wales and Carnsore Point in Ireland.  The sea lets out into the Atlantic on the North through the North Channel, which ends at a line drawn between the Mull of Kintyre and northeasternmost Antrim.

In the center of the Irish Sea lies the Isle of Man. The Scottish isles of Arran and Bute lie in the Firth of Clyde, a branch of the North Channel. Major cities on the Irish Sea include Dublin, Belfast, Glasgow, Carlisle, Blackpool, Preston, Liverpool and the rest of the Merseyside.

The Irish Sea has seen its share of history -- Viking raids and colonization, Norman conquerors, English colonization and domination of Ireland, U-boat raids and massive shipments of American troops and materiel during World War II.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.