This is the genealogy of the programming language Pascal:

Pascal is a child of Algol W.
Pascal was first known as Pascal in year 1970.
Then it begat Modula in year 1975.
Then it begat Ada in year 1979.
It became Pascal ISO 7185 (Unextended Pascal) in year 1983.
Then it begat Turbo Pascal in year 1983.
Then it begat Object Pascal in year 1985.
Then it begat Perl in year 1987.
It became Pascal ISO 10206 (Extended Pascal) in year 1989, and has not changed much since that time.

This genealogy is brought to you by the Programming Languages Genealogy Project. Please send comments to thbz.