Delhi is a Union Territory in the northern region of country of India. The popular misconception is that it is a city or a state. While that was not the case till a few years back, but after 1995-96, the government of India decided to grant partial statehood rights to Delhi. This means that unlike a Union Territory, it now has its own governement. But still, Delhi has not acquired complete statehood in many terms, so it is still a Union Territory legally.