In the Catholic Church, Commons are groups of reading appropriate for a type of celebration. They include First Readings, Responsorial Psalms, and Gospel Readings. One reading from each group may be selected for use during the Mass.

Often, more than one type of Common is appropriate for a celebration. When this occurs, readings may come from any of the Commons.

Easter is a special season for Commons. During Easter, a separate set of readings is assigned for the First Readings.

There a seven Commons for the liturgy. They are as follows:

Common for the Dedication of a Church
Common of the Blessed Virgin Mary
Common of Martyrs
Common of Pastors
Common of Doctors of the Church
Common of Virgins
Common of Holy Men and Women (Common of Saints)