Middle Eastern country bordering the United Arab Emirates (but much of this border is undefined, including a discontinuous peninsula surrounded by the UAE and the Strait of Hormuz) , Saudi Arabia, and Yemen, whith a coast on the Arabian Sea. It's a monarchy, specifically ruled by a sultan. The Portugese took over the area in 1507 but were kicked out by the locals in 1650; Persians invaded in 1737 but were expelled by 1749, when the dynasty that currently rules Oman was founded.