The MCSA stands for Microsoft Certified Systems Adminstrator, Microsoft's newest certification. In order to obtain this, one must pass three core exams. and one elective exam that "provide a valid and reliable mesaure of technical proficiency and expertise in administering and supporting Windows 2000-based systems, including Windows .NET Server."

An MCSA should have six to twelve months of experience adminstering, implementing, and managing an existing network.

Exams required to achieve this:
70-210 Installing, Configuring, and Administering Microsoft Windows 2000 Profesional
70-215 Installing, COnfiguring and Administering Microsoft 2000 Server
70-218 Managing a Microsoft Windows 2000 Network Environment
The elective exams that can be taken, only one of the below is required.
70-028 Administering Microsoft SQL Server 7.0
70-081 Implementing and Supporting Microsoft Exchange Server 2.0
70-086 Implementing and Supporting Microsoft Systems Management Server 2.0
70-088 Implementing and Supporting Microsoft Proxy Server 2.0
70-216 Implementing and Administering a Microsoft Windowss 2000 Network Infrastructure
70-224 Installing, Configuring, and Adminstering Microsoft Exchange 2000 Server
70-227 Instaling, Configuring, and Adminstering Microsfot Internet Security and Acceleration Server
70-228 Configuring, Installing, and Adminstering Microsoft SQL Server 2000
70-244 Supporting and Maintaing a Microsoft Windows NT Server 4.0 Network
CompTIA A+
CompTIA Network +

Information for this node was taken from small>