A collections of short stories by Roald Dahl, first published in Great Britain in 1979.

The included stories are:
  • Taste
  • Lamb to the Slaughter
  • Man from the South
  • My Lady Love, My Dove
  • Dip in the Pool
  • Galloping Foxley
  • Skin
  • Neck
  • Nunc Dimittis
  • The Landlady
  • William and Mary
  • The Way up to Heaven
  • Parson's Pleasure
  • Mrs Bixby and the Colonel's Coat
  • Royal Jelly
  • Edward the Conqueror

The stories are a little bit bizarre: the characters are involved in strange circumstances or outrageous plans. No matter how strange the subject matter is, though, Roald Dahl includes a character who carries on perfectly calmly, which makes the stories seem all the more surreal.

All the stories conclude with an unexpected twist. The endings often have a theme of consequences or justice, usually foiling the bizarre plans of one of the characters or revealing some strange side effect of their equally strange schemes.