Canada's highest court, created by the Supreme Court Act and section 101 of The Constitution Act 1867. The court consists of nine justices, three must come from Quebec and traditionaly one comes from Atlantic Canada, two from the west and the remaining three from Ontario.

The minimum number of justices needed to hear a case is five althought seven is normal and all nine will hear important cases.

The Supreme Court hears appeals from the Federal Appeal Court and Provincial Appeal Court as well as reference cases from the Federal Government.

Structure of the Canadian Government

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.