Code Tree:
DIKU > Merc > smaug

Latest Version (October 23, 2000): 1.4a

SMAUG is a mud codebase, a derivitive of the Merc Codebase which is itself a derivitive of the DIKU codebase. Smaug stands for "Simulated Medievial Adventure Multi-User Game". Developed by the project head Derek Snider (aka Thoric) and a cast of coders who call themselves Altrag, Blodkai, Narn, Haus, Scyrn, Rennard, Swordbearer, Grog, Grishnakh, Nivek, Tricops and Fireblade.

The SMAUG code started out as simply the mud merc 2.1 mud 'Realms of Despair' in 1994 and developed into a public release in December 1996 when it was christened SMAUG.

The Goal for SMAUG was to be the most feature rich, yet stable and consistant code base. There is no cutting and pasting in the code since nearly all features it has were put into the code by the development team, well designed, and well integrated.

The homepage for SMAUG is at

The main implementation of SMAUG is the mud Realms of Despair at port 4000

Mythic dragon of Tolkien lore, featured in The Hobbit. Bred in Angband, took over the dwarf kingdom of Erebor in the third age, 2770. Occupied lonely mountain until Bard killed him with the black arrow. "Smaug" means "Squeezed through a hole" according to Tolkien's linguistics. This refers to the famous tunnel Bilbo discovered which is measured as 'five men high and three may walk abreast" and is Smaug's original point of entry into Lonely Mountain, but he can no longer get out.

Source: The encyclopedia of Arda,

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.