The latest album from Spiritualized, which will be released on September 10th, 2001. This is the much anticipated follow up to their last incredible studio album, Ladies And Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space.

The first single, Stop Your Crying, will be released on August 27th, 2001.

The album was written and arranged by Jason Pierce was recorded both at Air studios and Abbey Road Studios(The famous Studio Two) and was produced by J Spaceman and John Coxon.

In addition to the regular members of the band, the recording includes over 100 musicians, from gospel and traditional choirs, as well as an orchestra. Band members credited on the album incude:

A five-piece brass ensemble will be joining the above members when the band begins to tour in support of the album.

This album has been playing non stop since I heard about it and downloaded the tracks to check them out. It is perhaps one of the most beautiful albums of the past ten years, with Grandaddy's The Sophtware Slump and Radiohead's OK Computer.

So what does it sound like? Imagine if Leonard Cohen made an analog version of Radiohead's Amnesiac, and mixed it down with Pink Floyd's Atom Heart Mother. Between powerful horn lines (the french horn runs rampant on the disc) and sweeping chorus, you find assaulting rock tunes. This may just be the album of the year. Wow.

Tracks are :

  1. On Fire - A piano and chorus driven rocker typical of Spiritualized's louder tunes. on any of Floyd's 70's era releases.
  2. Do It All Over Again - A romping frolicky song, almost 70's cheezy pop, but not.
  3. Don't Just Do Something - A sweeter vocal driven track, what would happen if Steely Dan made Space Rock
  4. Out Of Sight - Filled with wailing guitar, horns and strings, this would fit perfect
  5. The Twelve Steps - A hard distorted rocker that comes in soundind almost like My Generation, this has a bridge worthy of the Starsky and Hutch soundtrack.
  6. The Straight And The Narrow - Sounds like R.E.M.. At their best.
  7. I Didn't Mean To Hurt You - An orchestral dirge of sorts with a blues sensibility
  8. Stop Your Crying - The most gospel song on the album, this is a feel good special, akin to Coldplay's Everything's Not Lost, except this one has the choir.
  9. Anything More - Another warmer tune, peacful and made for being in love. complete with sweeping horn lines.
  10. Won't Get To Heaven (The State I'm In) - Continuing the patterns on the latter part of the album, this is a grandiose number that would sound wel suited over the ending credits of a film.
  11. Lord Can You Hear Me - Sounds just like the title suggests, this could easily have been required at a Baptist church on any given Sunday.

factual stuff gathered from

Let It Come Down is also the only solo album by James Iha, former guitarist of The Smashing Pumpkins. Though considering this album as a solo album is a exaggeration, as James Iha uses musicians who are also involved with the Smashing Pumpkins. D'arcy Wretzky, the Smashing Pumpkins bassist, sings some vocals on one song and the Adore-era Smashing Pumpkins drummer Matt Walker plays drums on this album, other musicians who worked with The Smashing Pumpkins and also appear on this album are for example Adam Schlesinger (piano, bass), Eric Remschneider (cello) and the former Smashing Pumpkins producer Flood. Looking at this line up one may guess that this album is just another Smashing Pumpkins album. But is it not, and the reason is, that one name missing here: Billy Corgan. This makes the album to an interesting experiment: What kind of music would The Smashing Pumpkins have played without the genius of Billy Corgan? And the answer is obvious: Folk music!
So if you like the Smashing Pumpkins because of Bullet With Butterfly Wings or Zero this album is clearly nothing for you. The best song to compare this album to is Farewell And Goodnight from Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. Interesting is also, that all songs on this album are written by James Iha himself. While making albums with the Smashing Pumpkins his songs never got very big attention. But the song writing on this album shows that James Iha is too good to be just Billy Corgans guitarist. Sadly the album sold really bad.

Let it Come Down - Discography:
Let It Come Down
1. Be Strong Now
2. Sound of Love
3. Beauty
4. See the Sun
5. Country Girl
6. Jealousy
7. Lover, Lover
8. Silver String
9. Winter
10. One and Two
11. No One's Gonna Hurt You
12. My Advice (Japanese bonus track)

Be Strong Now
1. Be Strong Now
2. My Advice
3. Take Care
4. Falling

Jealousy (promotional release)

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.