A system of psychological classification developed by Carl Jung, which is detailed in his work Psychological Types.

Essentially, Jung's typology consists of eight different mental functions:

  • Extroverted Sensing
  • Introverted Sensing
  • Extroverted Intuition
  • Introverted Intuition
  • Extroverted Thinking
  • Introverted Thinking
  • Extroverted Feeling
  • Introverted Feeling
  • According to Jung, each individual is dominant in one of these functions, and their personality and behaviour are shaped by the traits associated with that function.

    Jungian Typology can also refer to the Myers-Briggs (MBTI) index, an expanded version of Jung's typology that outlines 16 different personality types based on Jung's eight mental functions.

    Also see Jungian Functions


    Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.