Ian Holm Cuthbert was born 12th September 1931 in the mental asylum in Goodmayes, where his father worked as a psychiatrist and superintendent. In 1954, after a year of National Service, he joined the Royal Shakespeare Company where he had his stage debut as a spear carrier in Othello. His first Broadway debut was in 1967 in a play called The Homecoming, the year after he has his first movie debut in The Bofors Gun. He gets a recommendation as Best Supporting Actor.

In 1998 he was knighted by Queen Elizabeth II, for his services to drama. He is now called Sir Ian Holm.

The Bofers Gun (1968)
A midsummer Night's dream (1968)
The Fixer (1968)
Oh! What a lovely war (1969)
A Severed Head (1971)
Nicholas and Alexandra (1971)
Mary, Queen of Scots (1971)
Young Winston (1972)
The Homecoming (1973)
Juggernaut (1974)
Shout at the Devil (1976)
Robin and Marian (1976)
March Or Die (1977)
Alien (1979)
Time Bandits (1980)
Chariots of Fire (1981)
The Return of the Soldier (1982)
Singleton's Pluck (1984)
Graystoke: Legend of Tarzan (1984)
Dreamchild (1985)
Wetherby (1985)
Brazil (1985)
Dance with a Stranger (1985)
Another Woman (1988)
Henry V (1989)
Hamlet (1990)
Naked Lunch (1991)
Kafka (1991)
Blue Ice (1992)
The Advocate/The Hour of the Pig (1993)
The Madness of King George (1994)
Mary Shelley's Frankenstein (1994)
Lock Ness (1995)
Big Night (1996)
The Fifth Element (1997)
Night Falls on Manhattan (1997)
A life less ordinary (1997)
The Sweet Hereafter (1997)
Incognito (1997)
eXistenZ (1999)
Simon Magus (1999)
Shergar (1999)
The Match (1999)
Joe Gould's Secret (2000)
Bless the Child (2000)
Esther Kahn (2000)
Beautiful Joe (2000)
From Hell (2001)
Lord of the Rings Part I (2001)
Lord of the Rings Part III (2003)

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.