Everything That Rises Must Converge is American author Flannery O'Connor's final collection of short stories, published posthumously in 1965. The title is borrowed from the writings of the Jesuit philosopher Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, who is best known for coining the term Omega Point for the state of final cosmological unity he believed the universe was progressing toward. De Chardin was a significant influence on O'Connor's work and spiritual life. Unsurprisingly, themes of convergence dominate the collections' narratives, as does a general concern with the character of life in the American South.

The collection contains:

  • An introduction by poet and classicist Robert Fitzgerald, Flannery O'Connor's literary executor
  • "Everything That Rises Must Converge"
  • "Greenleaf"
  • "A View of the Woods"
  • "The Enduring Chill"
  • "The Comforts of Home"
  • "The Lame Shall Enter First"
  • "Revelation"
  • "Parker's Back"
  • "Judgment Day"

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.