Just north of Little Stony Point, in the shadow of Breakneck Mountain, lies the Cornish Estate. Another one of the ruins of the Hudson Valley, the estate was owned by Edward G. Cornish, president of the National Lead Company. The property included a mansion, gardens, greenhouse, large swimming pool, and a dairy farm.
The mansion was built in the early 1900s by James W. Eaton, using rocks from Breakneck Mountain. The dairy farm was located further up the winding drive, nestled in a valley between Bull Hill and Breakneck Mountain. It included a large stone barn, two-story farmhouse, pasteurizing house, and other buildings.
Mr. Cornish and his wife lived at the mansion overlooking the Hudson River until they died in the 1930s. The buildings were boarded up and left vacant pending property settlement. In the fall of 1956, the mansion burned down, leaving only the outside walls and fireplaces standing. Most of the farm buildings have collapsed as well.
Today, the property is owned by New York State, and is part of Hudson Highlands State Park.