Australian Constitution

Chapter VI. New States.

121. The Parliament may admit to the Commonwealth or establish new States, and may upon such admission The Parliament or establishment make or impose such terms and conditions, including the extent of representation in either House of the Parliament, as it thinks fit.

122. The Parliament may make laws for the government of any territory surrendered by any State to and accepted by the Commonwealth, or of any territory placed by the Queen under the authority of and accepted by the Commonwealth, and may allow the representation of such territory in either House of the Parliament to the extent and on the terms which it thinks fit.

123. The Parliament of the Commonwealth may, with the consent of the Parliament of a State, and the approval of the majority of the electors of the State voting upon the question, increase, diminish, or otherwise alter the limits of the State, upon such terms and conditions as may be agreed on, and may, with the like consent, make provision respecting the effect and operation of any increase or diminution or alteration of territory in relation to any State affected.

124. A new State may be formed by separation of territory from a State, but only with the consent of the Parliament thereof, and a new State may be formed by the union of two or more States or parts of States, but only with the consent of the Parliaments of the States affected.

Constitution of Australia
Chapter I. The Parliament
Chapter I. Part II - The Senate
Chapter I. Part III - The House of Representatives
Chapter I. Part IV - Both Houses of the Parliament
Chapter I. Part V - Powers of the Parliament
Chapter II. The Executive Government
Chapter III. The Judicature
Chapter IV. Finance and Trade
Chapter V. The States
Chapter VI. New States
next Chapter VII. Miscellaneous
Chapter VIII. Alteration of the Constitution
The Schedule

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.