Best known for his eighth book, A Clockwork Orange, Anthony Burgess was an English author, critic, musician and playwright.

Anthony Burgess was born in Manchester, England as John Anthony Burgess Wilson on February 25, 1917. He has published under another pseudonym, Joseph Kell, as well as his real name, John Burgess Wilson. The Editor of the Yorkshire Post once asked Burgess to review his own book.

Burgess studied at Xaverian College and graduated from Manchester University in 1940. He taught at Birmingham University from 1946 to 1950, worked for the Ministry of Education from 1948 to 1950 and served as English master at Banbury Grammar School from 1950 to 1954. Burgess acted as education officer in Malaya and Borneo from 1954 to 1959.

Burgess married Llwela Isherwood Jones in 1942 -- she died of alcoholic cirrosis in 1968. He married his second wife, an Italian countess, in 1968 -- she died eight years later.

Burgess died of cancer on November 22, 1993 in London.

In 1998, Linda Burgess donated two of his personal library collections (from his homes in Providence, France and the isle of Malta) to the University of Angers in France. Roughly half of the 450 texts in the Providence collection are written in Italian and consist of mainly literature, art books and tourist guides. The Malta collection consists of approximately 1800 volumes and is mostly English. The Malta collection includes:

  • school textbooks
  • a collection of Punch
  • several books dedicated to Burgess
  • translations of Burgess' works in other languages
These collections were catalogued in the summer of 1999, the entirety of which is downloadable (in .pdf format) and searchable online:

An Incomplete Bibliography:1

Time for a Tiger (London: Heinemann, 1956).

The Enemy in the Blanket (London: Heinemann, 1958).

English Literature: A Survey for Students as John Burgess Wilson (London: Longmans Green, 1958).

Beds in the East (London: Heinemann, 1959).

The Doctor Is Sick (London: Heinemann, 1960; New York: Norton, 1966).

The Right to an Answer (London: Heinemann, 1960; New York: Norton, 1962).

One Hand Clapping as Joseph Kell (London: Peter Davis, 1961); as Anthony Burgess (New York, Knopf, 1972).

Devil of a State (London: Heinemann, 1961; New York: Norton, 1962).

The Worm and the Ring (London: Heinemann, 1961).

A Clockwork Orange (London: Heinemann, 1962; New York: Norton, 1963).

The Wanting Seed (London: Heinemann, 1962; New York: Norton, 1963).

Inside Mr. Enderby as Joseph Kell (London: Heinemann, 1963); enlarged as Enderby as Anthony Burgess (New York: Norton, 1968).

Honey for the Bears (London: Heinemann, 1963; New York: Norton, 1964).

The Eve of St. Venus (London: Sidgwick & Jackson, 1964; New York: Norton, 1970).

Language Made Plain as John Burgess Wilson (London: English Universities Press, 1964); as Anthony Burgess (New York: Crowell, 1965).

Malayan Trilogy as John Burgess Wilson (London: Heinemann, 1964) comprises Time for a Tiger, The Enemy in the Blanket and Beds in the East; republished as The Long Day Wanes: A Malayan Trilogy as Anthony Burgess (New York: Norton, 1965).

Nothing Like the Sun: A Story of Shakespeare's Love Life (London: Heinemann, 1964; New York: Norton, 1964).

Here Comes Everybody: An Introduction to James Joyce for the Ordinary Reader (London: Faber & Faber, 1965); republished as Re Joyce (New York: Norton, 1965); revised edition, with original title (Feltham, U.K.: Hamlyn, 1982).

A Vision of Battlements (London: Sidgwick & Jackson, 1965; New York: Norton, 1966).

Tremor of Intent (London: Heinemann, 1966; New York: Norton, 1966).

Coaching Days of England (London: Elek / Greenwich, Conn.: New York Graphic Society, 1966).

The Age of the Grand Tour, by Burgess and Francis Haskell (London: Elek, 1967; New York: Crown, 1967).

The Novel Now: A Student's Guide to Contemporary Fiction (London: Faber & Faber, 1967; New York: Norton, 1967).

Enderby Outside (London: Heinemann, 1968).

Urgent Copy: Literary Studies (London: Cape, 1968; New York: Norton, 1969).

Shakespeare (London: Cape, 1970; New York: Knopf, 1970).

MF (London: Cape, 1971; New York: Knopf, 1971).

Joysprick: An Introduction to the Language of James Joyce (London: Deutsch, 1973; New York: Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, 1975).

Napoleon Symphony (London: Cape, 1974; New York: Knopf, 1974).

The Clockwork Testament, or, Enderby's End (London: Hart-Davis, MacGibbon, 1974; New York: Knopf, 1975).

Moses: A Narrative (New York: Stonehill, 1976; London: Dempsey & Squires, 1976).

New York by Burgess and the editors of Time-Life Books (Amsterdam: Time-Life International, 1976).

A Long Trip to Teatime (London: Dempsey & Squires, 1976; New York: Stonehill, 1978)

Beard's Roman Women (New York: McGraw-Hill, 1976).

ABBA ABBA (London: Faber & Faber, 1977; Boston: Little, Brown, 1977).

Ernest Hemingway & His World (New York: Scribners, 1978; London: Thames & Hudson, 1978).

1985 (London: Hutchinson, 1978; Boston: Little, Brown, 1978).

Man of Nazareth (New York: McGraw-Hill, 1979).

Earthly Powers (New York: Simon & Schuster, 1980; London: Hutchinson, 1980).

On Going to Bed (London: Deutsch, 1982; New York: Abbeville Press, 1982).

The End of the World News: An Entertainment (London: Hutchinson, 1982; New York: McGraw-Hill, 1983).

This Man and Music (London: Hutchinson, 1982; New York: McGraw Hill, 1983).

Enderby's Dark Lady, or, No End to Enderby (London: Hutchinson, 1984; New York: McGraw-Hill, 1984).

Ninety-Nine Novels: The Best in English Since 1939: A Personal Choice (London: Allison & Busby, 1984).

Flame into Being: The Life and Work of D. H. Lawrence (London: Heinemann, 1985; New York: Arbor House, 1985).

The Kingdom of the Wicked (London: Hutchinson, 1985).

Blooms of Dublin: A Musical Play Based on James Joyce's Ulysses (London: Hutchinson, 1986).

Homage to QWERT YUIOP: Essays (London: Hutchinson, 1986); republished as But Do Blondes Prefer Gentlemen?: Homage to Qwert Yuiop, and Other Writings (New York: McGraw-Hill, 1986).

Little Wilson and Big God: Being the First Part of the Confessions of Anthony Burgess (New York: Weidenfled & Nicolson, 1986; London: Heinemann, 1987).

The Pianoplayers (London: Hutchinson, 1986).

A Clockwork Orange: A Play with Music Based on His Novella of the Same Name (London: Hutchinson, 1987).

They Wrote in English (London: Hutchinson, 1988).

Any Old Iron (New York: Random House, 1989; London: Hutchinson, 1989).

The Devil's Mode: Stories (London: Hutchinson, 1989).

You've Had Your Time: The Second Part of the Confessions (London: Heinemann, 1990; New York: Weidenfeld, 1991).

Mozart and the Wolf Gang (London: Hutchinson, 1991); republished as On Mozart: A Paean for Wolfgang (New York: Ticknor & Fields, 1991).

A Mouthful of Air: Language and Languages, Especially English (London: Hutchinson, 1992).

A Dead Man in Deptford (London: Hutchinson, 1993; New York: Carroll & Graf, 1995).

Byrne: A Novel (London: Hutchinson, 1995; New York: Carroll & Graf, 1997).


Michel de Saint-Pierre, The New Aristocrats, translated by Burgess and Llewela Burgess (London: Gollancz, 1962).


James Joyce, A Shorter "Finnegans Wake", edited by Burgess (London: Faber, 1966).

Jean Pelegri, The Olive Trees of Justice, translated by Burgess and Lynn Wilson (London: Sidgwick & Jackson, 1962).

Jean Servin, The Man Who Robbed Poor Boxes (London: Gollancz, 1965).

Edmund Rostand, Cyrano de Bergerac (New York: Knopf, 1971).

Sophocles, Oedipus the King (Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1972).


The Anthony Burgess Center at the University of Angers Library:
Encyclopaedia Britannica:
The Clockwork Website by Alison McCarrey, Luz Cortez and Aly Fong (hosted by the University of Southern California):

1 It's very difficult to find a complete list of everything written by Anthony Burgess. If you have something to add, please /msg me.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.