Aix-La-Chapelle is the French name of the city Aachen, Germany.

Although Aix-La-Chapelle is primarily famous for being a residence of Charlemagne, it is also known for the two pacts that were signed there and the Congress of Aix-La-Chapelle.

Compact of Aix-La-Chapelle
This treaty, signed on May 2, 1668, ended the War of Devolution. The treaty specified that France would end its invasion of Spanish Netherlands, although it was allowed to retain possession of several towns on the Netherlands border.

Treaty of Aix-La-Chapelle
This treaty, signed on October 18, 1748, ended the Austrian War of Succession. In addition to confirming the succession of Maria Theresa to the throne of Austria, the treaty also resolved various conflicts between the British and the French in Canada and India.

Congress of Aix-La-Chapelle
Held on October 1November 15, 1818, this was the first of four congresses held to discuss European problems as a result of the Napoleonic Wars. The countries attending the congress were Great Britain, Austria, Prussia, Russia, and France.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.