ANU Acronym: Australian National University.

Founded in the year 1946 by the Australian federal government, as Australia's only completely research-oriented university. The ANU occupies hundreds of acres of beautiful lakeside land in the national capital city of Canberra.

In the year 1960 the ANU merged with the Canberra University College, to begin offering both undergraduate and graduate education. Another merger, in 1992, with the National Institute of The Arts, which allowed the ANU to encompass creative arts and music.

The ANU is renowned for it's Computer Science, Political Science, and Language Study.