A city of northwestern Peru and capital of the La Libertad department. Founded in 1534 and known as the "City of Eternal Spring", it is an inland commercial and transportation center for the surrounding farming areas. In 1800, extensive irrigated agriculture caused expansive growth in Trujillo. It is home to the University of Trujillo, founded in 1824 and near important sites of the Nazca, Moche, and Chimu civilizations. The population is estimated at 603,657.