(Hinduism, Sanskrit)

Some sort of taste derived from sense perceptions. In the revealed scriptures (the smriti), the following twelve varieties of rasas are enumerated:

  1. raudra (anger)
  2. adbhuta (wonder)
  3. shringara (conjugal love)
  4. hasya (comedy)
  5. vira (chivalry)
  6. daya (mercy)
  7. dasya (servitorship)
  8. sakhya (fraternity)
  9. bhayanaka (horror)
  10. bibhatsa (shock)
  11. shanra (neutrality)
  12. vatsalya (parenthood)
These rasas are displayed between man and man and between animal and animal. According to scripture there is no possibility of an exchange or rasa between a man and an animal or between a man or any other species of living beings within the material world. These rasas are exchanged between member of the same species only.

However, in the spiritual world, these spiritual mellows of taste in a relationship with the Supreme are perfectly possible. Therefore the term rasa extends to describing the relationships between Lord Krishna and the living entities (or, jivas). The Supreme Personality of Godhead is therefore described in the sruti-mantras, the Vedic hymns, as "the fountainhead of all rasas". When one associates with the Supreme Lord and exchanges one's constitutional rasa with the Lord, then the living being is actually happy.