The Blackfeet are divided into three main groups: the Northern Blackfeet or Siksika, the Kainah or Blood, and the Piegan. The three as a whole are also referred to as the Siksika (translated Blackfeet), a term which probably came from the discoloration of moccasins with ashes. The three groups all speak a language which is a part of the Algonquian family. The Piegan and Blood are the most closely related dialects.

In the last part of the ninteenth century, the Blackfeet were placed on Indian reservations: The Blackfeet Agency, the Blood Agency, and the Piegan Agency in Alberta, Canada and The Blackfeet Reservation in Montana.