As of 1997, in order to qualify for burial in Arlington National Cemetery, the deceased must meet one or more of the following criteria.

Any honorably discharged winners of the Air Force Cross, Distinguished Service Cross, Medal of Honor, Navy Cross, Purple Heart or Silver Star.

Any members of the armed services who die on active duty, certain disabled veterans, members of the armed services who haved served long enough to be offically retired, and any honorably discharged veterans who have held federal elective office at a Cabinet level position or who have served on the Supreme Court. Their wives and minor children are also eligible.

Until 1967, all honorably discharged veterans qualified for burial in the cemetary.

The only two Presidents buried in Arlington National Cemetery are John F. Kennedy and William Howard Taft.