Island off the western coast of Europe, in the British Isles, or one of the countries on it (which is also known as the Republic of Ireland). The Republic is largely Catholic; the small northeastern corner (Northern Ireland), which is part of the United Kingdom, has a slight Protestant majority. All the island was ruled by the monarch of England for centuries, until 1921.