This is the new development effor in FreeBSD -CURRENT characterized by mutexes, getting rid of the ipl, and interrupt threads. In other words, this is fine-grained SMP for FreeBSD, with a bit of borrowing from BSD/OS 5. Principle developers include Jason Evans, Greg Lehey, Jake Burkholder, Matt Dillon, John Baldwin, et al.