Abbreviation for Sveriges Radio ("Swedish Radio") -- the Swedish Broadcasting Corporation.
SR runs six national channels, (P1, P2, P3, P4, P6 and P7) and 26 local ones.

SR is owned by a foundation and is entirely funded by licence fees. It's an independent company; but all broadcasting must comply with the conditions in the licence granted to SR by the government.

Sveriges Radio transmits about 120 000 hours every year. Broadcasting started in 1925.