(Hinduism, Sanskrit)

The four great ages of universal time (kala), which occur in repeated cycles of 4,320,000 years:

  1. satya-yuga
  2. treta-yuga
  3. dvapara-yuga
  4. kali-yuga

Dharma it is said, walks firmly on all four legs during the krita-yuga (satya-yuga). In treta one leg is maimed, and in dwapara two of its legs are disabled. During Kali-yuga Dharma is said to limp on just one leg.

Yug (?), Yu"ga (?), n. [Skr. yuga an age, a yoke. See Yoke.] Hindoo Cosmog.

Any one of the four ages, Krita, or Satya, Treta, Dwapara, and Kali, into which the Hindoos divide the duration or existence of the world.


© Webster 1913.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.