Utrecht is the fourth largest city of the Netherlands, after Amsterdam, Rotterdam and The Hague. It is the capital of the province Utrecht, lying southeast of Amsterdam, on the Kromme Rijn (which means: crooked Rhine). Its main tourist attractions are the Dom Tower and the Oude Gracht ('Old Canal') area. Around 200.000 people live in Utrecht, which is considered the center of the Netherlands.

In history, Utrecht played the starring role in the Treaty of Utrecht and the Union of Utrecht.

Famous people from Utrecht include footballer Marco van Basten, judoka Anton Geesink, deejay and politician Henk Westbroek and architect Gerrit Rietveld.

Other large cities in the province Utrecht are Amersfoort and Hilversum. Utrecht is the smallest of all Dutch provinces.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.