The Upper South is that part of the U.S. South which is not the Deep South. North Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Kentucky, Tennessee, possibly Missouri and Arkansas, perhaps (Gorgonzola suggests Delaware); people's perceptions of the boundaries differ and don't exactly match the state lines. Often the Deep South and Upper South had very different political and economic views during the antebellum period, since they had very different growing conditions and because of that, different economies.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.