The Second Empire was the period in French history between 1852 and 1870 during which Napoleon III, the nephew of Napoleon Bonaparte, ruled as Emperor. Although the Second Empire lasted for longer than the first one and endured things like the Crimean War, it was effectively ended by the Franco-Prussian War. When Napoleon III was captured by the Prussians he was declared deposed on September 4 1870 by a bloodless revolution in Paris and France was again without an Emperor.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.