While the Western world today thinks of Taoism as a quiet semi-mystical philosophy of going with the flow, traditional Taoism also comes in a hands-on format. Just as the Western esoteric tradition has its alchemy, so does Taoism, although the numbers are a bit different. Western alchemy uses four traditional elements of fire, water, air, and earth; Taoist alchemy, on the other hand, uses five: fire, earth, metal, water, and wood.

The Taoist elements can fall into two cycles -- one creative and one destructive -- as follows:

The creative or nurturing cycle:

  • Fire nurtures earth because it produces ash.
  • Earth nurtures metal because metal is mined from the earth.
  • Metal nurtures water because water condenses upon metal.
  • Water nurtures wood because plants require water to grow.
  • Wood nurtures fire, which should be obvious!

The destructive cycle:

  • Fire melts metal.
  • Metal chops down wood.
  • Wood depletes the earth.
  • Earth soaks up water.
  • Water puts out fire.

The Taoist elements give rise to a good deal of that Traditional Chinese Medicine we've heard so much about lately, including feng shui. This "medicine" is now rightly regarded as a pseudoscience. However, as with Western alchemy, at the time it was formulated it was an attempt at science, at finding regularities or laws of the universe.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.