The most modern taxonomic classification system. It is basically the same as the five kingdoms, except that the kingdom Monera is split into two separate kingdoms (eubacteria and archaebacteria). This system has not yet acheived wide recognition like the five kingdoms have.

The six kingdoms:

  • Animalia - Animals
  • Plantae- Plants
  • Fungi - Fungi
  • Protista - Eukaryotic organisms that can't really be put into any other kingdom (catch-all kingdom)
  • Archaebacteria - Primitive monerans
  • Eubacteria - All other monerans

  • I never thought biology would propel me to level 3...

    Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.