Royal Marriages Act, an act of George III., passed by the British Parliament in 1772, which forbids all descendants of George II., other than the issue of princesses married into foreign families, to contract marriage without the consent of the sovereign, signified under the great seal. But such descendants, if above the age of 25, may dispense with the consent of the crown, unless both Houses of Parliament expressly declare their disapproval within 12 months after notice of the intended marriage has been given to the privy council. Marriages otherwise entered into are void.

Entry from Everybody's Cyclopedia, 1912.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.