A genus of trees resembling beeches, and for that reason, sometimes put in the beech family Fagaceae.  However, more botanists place Nothofagus in its own family.

This genus contains species native mostly to Australia, New Zealand and southern South America, with a few tropical varieties on New Guinea and New Caledonia. Fossil pollen shows that Nothofagus species existed on Antarctica before it entered the deep freeze. This distribution can only be explained by Nothofagus species existing while they were all joined as Gondwanaland 80 million years ago.

Domain Eucarya
Kingdom Plantae
Division Magnoliophyta (formerly Phylum Tracheophyta)
Class Magnoliopsida (formerly Class Dicotyledonae)
Subclass Hamamelididae
Order Fagales
Family Nothofagaceae
Genus Nothofagus

Subgenus Lophozonia:

Subgenus Fuscospora: Subgenus Nothofagus: Subgenus Brassospora:
  • N. aequilateralis
  • N. balansae
  • N. baumanniae
  • N. brasii
  • N. carii
  • N. codonandra
  • N. crenata
  • N. cuprea ("Southern Beech")
  • N. discoidea
  • N. flaviramena
  • N. grandis
  • N. perryi
  • N. procera (Raulí) (aka N. nervosa or N. alpina)
  • N. pullei
  • N. resinosa
  • N. rubra
  • N. starkenborghii

Subgenera based upon pollen type from

Trees of Australia at

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.