A collection, published in 1953, of nine short stories written by J.D. Salinger. The stories are:

  1. A Perfect Day for Bananafish
  2. Uncle Wiggily in Connecticut
  3. Just Before the War with the Eskimos
  4. The Laughing Man
  5. Down at the Dinghy
  6. For Esmé - with Love and Squalor
  7. Pretty Mouth and Green My Eyes
  8. De Daumier-Smith's Blue Period
  9. Teddy

Of these stories, seven (1,2,3,4,5,6,9) were originally published in The New Yorker. "Pretty Mouth and Green My Eyes" was originally published in Harper's Magazine.

Several of the stories feature members of Salinger's Glass family. "A Perfect Day for Bananafish" is the earliest story about the family; it chronicles Seymour Glass's last day of life. Walt Glass is briefly mentioned in "Uncle Wiggily in Connecticut," and Boo Boo Glass is introduced in "Down at the Dinghy."

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.