Under the presidency of George Washington, the Judiciary Act of 1789 was issued. The act consisted of:

1. An establishment of a Supreme Court of six judges, a chief justice, and five associate justices. (John Jay was the first Chief Justice.)
2. The providing for 13 District Courts and 3 Circuit Courts.
3. An establishment of the office of Attourney General. (Edmund Randolph was the first Attourney General, head of the Justice Department.)

This was a very complete and detailed law setting forth procedures which, for the most part, are still in effect. Part of this law became an important factor in the Marbury v. Madison Case of 1803.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.