Negotating block of industrialized non-EU countries in the Kyoto Protocol discussions. The name is an acronym of the original member countries, Japan, US, Switzerland, Canada, Australia, Norway and New Zealand. Now includes Russia and Iceland. Countries with economical interests in reducing the impacts of the protocol, their demand being participation from developing countries in reducing greenhouse gas emissions.

Japan, US, Canada and Australia have been the main road blocks in ratifying the Kyoto Protocol in the last round of negotiations.

Log in or register to write something here or to contact authors.