The first element of the path of classical yoga: Restraint
Yama (restraints or attitudes): contast to niyama. Controls placed on behavior to prevent suffering. Here, as taught by a yoga teacher, so of course warped and obscured, the Yamas are the don'ts to the niyamas' dos (how does one pluralize a contraction!?)
  1. Ahimsa
  2. Satya
  3. Asteya
  4. Brahmacharya
  5. Aparigraha
Yama is also supposedly Japanese for mountain. Maybe someone can verify that?