Area in southeastern United States of America which has its own accent and culture which are frequently made fun of by Yankees. Composed of the former Confederate states of Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia, plus depending on who you ask, possibly any of Maryland, Delaware, West Virginia, Kentucky, and Oklahoma.